Their First Impressions on Me!

“In psychology, a first impression is the event when one person first encounters another person and forms a mental image of that person. It can sometimes form an accurate representation of the person, depending on the observer and the person being observed.”

Whenever “first impression” is talked about especially about me, I already have some presumptions as to how people would describe me from the very first time they met me. And when I hear their first impressions on me, I just smile because most of them are often correct. But, do these first impressions really last at all?

When my Emmaus group (Emmaus 6) had a gathering last March 29, 2012 Thursday, I learned their first impressions on me (this was part of the mini-program that we had in our gathering.) I won’t mention who said what, but let me mention their impressions on me when they got to rub shoulders with me for the very first time:

  • tomboyon (boyish)
  • talented
  • kadugo na talaga ng Emmaus 6
  • domineering / has a strong personality
  • easy to get along with
  • an asset
  • hawod-hawod (predominant)
  • bubbly
  • “magaan na agad ang loob” sa akin
  • optimistic and high-spirited
  • strives for excellence

So these were their first impressions on me. I already expected for the others (e.g. domineering, predominant) but with the rest, they were still something that made me wonder. LOL! Kidding aside though, I never imagined that I was generally a good person to them. It flattered and still flatters me. 🙂

Maybe they are true, that these impressions are true, but yeah, they are impressions still. It’s still up to us though whether we will live up to their first impressions on us, or we will prove them wrong. After all, no one else knows you much better but only you!

Leave a comment